Standing Ovation

Standing Ovation, 2016 Bournemouth Visual Effects, Animation and Games Festival (BFX) entry for team Mandleflake.

Unfortunately the charity it was created for withdrew their evolvement so this version without the voice over is the only one we could post online but it still contains the Original soundtrack composed and recorded by Oliver King.

“These are the final films from the eight teams that competed in BFX 2016 in Bournemouth, sponsored by Kingston Smith in support of two Charities – Create and Refuge. In just 7 weeks; they created these films with the guidance from lecturers at the NCCA, Arts University Bournemouth and leading studios including Framestore, Double Negative, MPC, Aardman, Outpost VFX, Hibbert Ralph Animation, Chaos Group, Blue Zoo, Paul Campion, Torbjorn “Tobey” Lindback and Toon Boom.”


Kyran Bishop: Production, Shading, Lighting Compositing:

Niya Gaydarova: Pre Production, Character Modelling, Animation:

Ashleigh-louise Hawkins: Pre-vis, Layout, Character texturing, Animation:

Liz Peach: Director, Pre production, Environment artist, Shading:

Lewis Pickston: Rigging, Simulation:

Sound design and original soundtrack composed and recorded by Oliver King.




Gameplay trailer:

“RGBargy is a fantasy multiplayer paintball game, developed by Cassandra Young and Thomas Becque as part of their final year project at the NCCA (Bournemouth University). Harvest red, green or blue juice from around the map and fire at your opponents to paint their beards and earn points!”

Follow updates at:

Production, animation, modelling, rigging

Cassandra Young:

Networking, Programming, Integration

Thomas Becque

Original library of sound effects, and Music Composed and recorded by Oliver King




Visitor is a 1 minute short directed by animator Chen Yang Hsu in collaboration with The Line animation studios and Electric Theatre Collective.

Direct by Chen Yang Hsu
Music & sound design by Oliver King

Chen Yang Hsu
Duncan Gist
James Duveen
Sam Taylor

Chen Yang Hsu
Max Taylor

Many thanks to
THELINE animation
Electric Theatre Collective

Draft soundtracks: